Skip to content

Ten Things ‘How I Met Your Mother’ Taught Me

February 2, 2015

tumblr_n3i39o6WyC1smch1lo1_500

I remember back in 2010, lying in my warm comfortable and cozy bed one chilly winter morning, disappointed from the entertainment on the television, in my room and randomly surfing through the TV stations. Literally, nothing good was on. I mean if there’s a limit of utter frustration, I achieved it that day as the first station that aired the Hollywood movies was airing some Chinese detective documentary which to make it worse had been translated poorly into the English language by a guy with an immensely disturbing Indian Accent.

Now I know most people are, but I am not at all a fan of the movies with ridiculously lengthy songs and dances, in which the hero gathers a group of men who out of no where, break dance in the rain, which just as a matter of luck starts to pour when the crew starts their performance in the streets All in a nutshell, I hate Bollywood movies. The next channel that aired Hollywood movies had a movie named the Chinese godfather running. Now if you’re not aware of the movie named the Chinese godfather, I’d suggest you watch it at least once in your life. Trust me; it is an experience of a life time.

All the other stations had something alike on, so carelessly surfing through the channels, I stopped at the station that aired Comedy sitcoms. I was not a sitcom guy at all. It was just that my TV remote had stopped working and after I had ‘gently patted it on the back’ several times and it still had not started functioning, I decided to discover the inner comical sitcom lover in me as the bed was too comfortable and I was too lazy to get up and change the station from the buttons on the television.

 

It’s actually quite funny now that I recall that Marshal Erickson was a complete stranger to me when I first saw the episode ‘The best burger in New York’ that day. I absolutely loved it. It sparked my interest. And in my subsequent holidays I decided to start the series from the very first episode. There was no turning back from then onwards. Every day was an adventure for me. I know some might not believe me, but I downloaded the first 5 seasons in a week and watched them all collectively in a period of 8 days. The ongoing season was the 6th. I believe it was December and the 12th episode of the 6th season was out. I saw it the same day. I literally waited all day for the episode to be available online. This sequence continued till the 31st of March 2014, when the last episode aired. The moment It finished, I started missing it.

 

Enough for my sentimental attachment towards HIMYM, here are a few of the things that the show had taught me:

 

  1. A goatee doesn’t go with a suit. If you have a goatee and don’t have a suit, get a suit and get rid of the goatee. Suits are awesome.
  2. Whenever you’re sad, stop being sad and start being awesome.
  3. Even if you know that something is gonna end the way like you imagine it to be, you can not always enjoy the ride.
  4. You never end up where you though you wanted to be, that’s life.
  5. You cant just skip ahead to where you think your life should be.
  6. Eventually, we’re all gonna move on. Its called growing up.
  7. The future is scary but you can’t just run back to the past because it’s familiar. Yes it’s tempting.
  8. Revenge fantasies never work out the way you want.
  9. Never stop your search for your yellow umbrella.
  10. Whenever there’s a rank in some name, you have just got to salute the rank and the next name. For instance, it is a general conception that…

You put your hand to your head in the form of a salute and say General Conception.

 

If I had the time, I’d watch the series from ‘Kids I’m gonna tell you a story’ to Ted standing in the rain outside Robin’s apartment building (whoao that gave me chills). However, these are only a few of the things I have learnt from HIMYM. I mean seriously, I can write a book and maybe someday I ill, but in the words of the great Ted Mosbey, more on that later J

From → Humor

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

